Schuler History

Bringing Quality to Your Table since 1694

Imagine: When our ancestors first brought wine to Switzerland from Italy over the Gotthard Pass back in the late 17th century, Louis XIV ruled over France, and China, in the years of the early Qing Dynasty, finally entered a peaceful time after long years of war and chaos, leading to the High-Qing period under the reigns of Kangxi and Qianlong. Since then, wine has continued to keep pace with the times, leaving its mark in the chronicles of world history and in bittersweet diary entries. The power of wine is – and will continue to be – in its origin. Whenever we add a wine to our collection, we do so as a family of winegrowers and wine sellers with over 300 years of experience. You can feel secure knowing that we understand its origin and can vouch for its authenticity and quality – generation after generation.

The Founders

Records show that Jakob Castell first arrived in Schwyz from the Val d'Aosta in 1686, where he payed the "Tolerierter" (seasonal worker) tax, which was customary at the time. In 1694 the tax doubled, and Castell became a "Jahrgelter" or year-round resident. Thus began the history of the Castell and Schuler trading company, the Schuler wine store of today.

Castell (d. 1728) came from Gressoney in the Lys Valley, a valley adjacent to the Val d'Aosta, which got its name from the Lyskamm, one of the mountains of the Monte Rosa massif, and which 500 years earlier had been settled by a German-speaking Alemannic people known as the Walser. He was, like many others from this valley, also known as the Krämertal, a traveling merchant, a fabric seller who in the winter months would leave his ancestral home, journeying far away from his family to sell his wares in places like Schwyz.

At the time, new residents of Schwyz with full rights were assigned to the Muotathal district and forced to a pay a buyer's fee of 1400 gulden and donate a robe to every parrish in the Old Land of Schwyz along with two frocks to the Mother Parish. His son, local governor Johann Jakob Castell I (d. 1776), and grandson, Judge Johann Jakob Castell II (1738-1811) developed the business even further.

Two Major Promoters

The two major promoters of the present-day company at that time were salt director Johann Jakob Castell III (1760-1822), son of the judge, and his son-in-law, Josef Anton Schuler-Castell (1775-1850), the two of whom founded the company and, in addition to fabric selling, went into the wine, cheese and banking businesses as well.

Josef Anton Schuler was a descendant of Hans Schuler from Ernen in Valais, who had settled in Rothenthurm around 1500. He belonged to the town council and was an emissary and salt director. The company supplied uniforms and bailiff robes to the government, habits to convents, and fine, stylish fabrics purchased in Switzerland, France, England, Germany and Eastern Europe to the rich. Castell and Schuler also sold cheese, wine, spices and even chocolate; the best at the time came from Spain. They also built a network of selling posts, with locations in Bellinzona, Magadino, Intra on Lake Maggiore and Milan.

Wine Versus Cheese

Between 1816 and 1820, the company stopped selling fabric. The textile industry had fallen into crisis and no one in the family wanted to stay in the business. However, the main reason behind the decision was likely the rapid growth of the new endeavors taken on by Johann Jakob Castell and his son-in-law Josef Anton Schuler in 1800: cheese, wine and banking.
Castell and Schuler bought alp cheese in Schwyz, Obwalden and Nidwalden, sometimes in Upper Valais and Entlebuch as well, transported it over the Gotthard pass and sold it in markets in northern Italy.

For a time, the most popular of these was Muotathal alp cheese. The Engelberg Abbey became an important partner in the cheese business. The abbot supplied not only monastery cheese, but he would also buy cheese from the lay brothers who had been set free at the time of the French invasion and sell it to exporters Castell and Schuler. The French occupation brought extreme poverty to Switzerland, and cheese exports were a source of much-needed income.

Despite political turmoil, the rise of the Helvetic Republic, mediation, Napoleonic wars and the Continental System, the cheese trade continued. Every year, 17,000 blocks were exported, 6,000 of them from Engelberg. Although the cheese was of the sbrinz variety, once packaged for transport it became known as "Spalenkäse" or "Spalen cheese." Six blocks of cheese were packed inside each "Spalen," or wooden drum, with two Spalen making up the side loads for each pack animal. On the return trip, carriages and pack animals carried back wine, rice, chestnuts, spirits, honey, salami, poultry and other goods to the north.

Transport Routes

In the back-and-forth trade with Italy, goods were transported by boat on Lake Maggiore (Intra and Magadino were important transfer points) and then brought by horse-drawn carriage to Faido, where they were loaded onto pack animals. The goods were then reloaded again onto carriages in Amsteg and again onto cargo boats in Flüelen. The trip lasted no more than five days. Mail service was fast, too, with letters from Italy typically arriving just one day later. Transport was made easier with the construction of the first motor vehicle road over the Gotthard Pass in 1830 and then with by the opening of the Axenstrasse in 1865. Goods were transported year-round, except for a few days in winter.

Turmoil in the 19th Century

The company was later headed by councilman Theodor Castell (1799-1870), who primarily resided in Intra, his brother-in-law Anton Schuler-Castell (1775-1850) and Schuler-Castell's sons, salt director Anton Schuler-Benziger (1814-1875) and canton and education councilman Meinrad Schuler (1828-1884).

In the famine of 1817, the company was able to supply the region of Schwyz upon urgent request from the government with "rice and fruits" (i.e., grains) from Italy. The necessary capital had to be advanced and was provided by a bank in Zurich.

The construction of the Gotthard railway (1872-1884) and the death of Anton Schuler-Benziger in 1875 brought a reduction in these expanded activities. The company's warehouses and offices in Bellinzona, Magadino and Intra had become less important and were shut down, as was the entire cheese business after several years of consecutive losses.

The Banking Business

The company entered the banking business by offering checking accounts. Castell and Schuler didn't have gold coins brought over the mountains, as had long been the custom. Rather, they ran a cash cycle in which the earnings from cheese sales were used to buy Italian products and, in Schwyz, revenue from wine, rice, etc., was used to buy cheese. Both from Schwyz as well as from the Lombard capital of Milan, home to the subsidiary Castelli-Borgo Caratti & Co., the company later become involved in gold trading, currency trading, money transfers for domestic military personnel and private households as well as credit card transactions.

In 1802/1803, the company financed the mission of emissary Dr. Karl Zay to the Consulta negotiations in Paris on behalf of the canton and managed the fund for the Sonderbund War of 1847. The money business was heavily expanded by Anton Schuler-Benziger, which eventually lead to the founding of a bank in Schwyz by brothers Anton and Theodor Schuler, sons of Anton Schuler-Benziger. After the death of Anton Schuler-Trucchi (1853-1910), the bank was taken over by his brother Theodor Schuler-Henggeler (1855-1936) and later sold to Schweizerische Genossenschaftsbank St. Gallen. After World War II, Genossenschaftsbank St. Gallen was taken over by the Swiss Bank Association.

The Wine Business Grows

In the first few years after the turn of the century, the wine business became increasingly important, presumably after Josef Anton Schuler-Castell (1775-1850) decided to enter the business once and for all. The primary source region remained northern Italy (Piedmont, Lombardy, Gattinara, etc.; the company once owned its own vineyard on the southern bank of Lake Maggiore, which was later sold after an estate division); however, the company soon began to sell wines from France (Bordeaux, Narbonne, Tain, Mâcon, etc.), the German Rhineland and Breisgau (Markgräfler) and Hungary (Tokayer) as well.

The number of suppliers in western and eastern Switzerland and in the southern canton of Ticino was especially high. The volume of wine imported over the Gotthard skyrocketed, going from 20,000 liters in 1807 to 82,000 liters in 1820/1821. The wines were sold throughout central Switzerland to local distributors, innkeepers and even monasteries and private individuals.

The wine business, like the banking business, continued under the hands of brothers Anton and Theodor Schuler. In 1893 they built a large winery in Seewen near the new Gotthard train station. A branch location was opened in 1891 in Lucerne, followed by the acquisition of a cellar building on Kesselgasse in Lucerne in 1895. After the death of Anton Schuler in 1919, Theodor Schuler took control of the banking business. The wine business was taken over by Theodor Schuler-Real (1881-1954), son of Anton Schuler.

Subscribe to Schuler's monthly newsletterSign Up 400 021 6760 Monday-Saturday : 12:00-19:00
Terms & Conditions

According to the Chinese laws and regulations we are not allowed to sell alcohol to persons under the age of 18.
With your registration you hereby confirm that you are over the age of 18.

品牌历史

将品质送至您的餐桌 — 始于1694年

想象一下:早在十七世纪后期,即路易十四统治法国时,瑞士人就第一次将葡萄酒从意大利经圣哥达山口 (Gotthard Pass) 带回瑞士本土;而当时的中国也才正值清朝初年,国家刚从战乱中恢复和平,即将步入康乾盛世。自那时起,葡萄酒就一直坚持与时俱进,在整个世界历史的发展史册上留下了属于自己的苦乐参半的发展足迹。葡萄酒的力量在于,并将始终在于 - 原创性。每当我们决定在现有系列中加入新品时,我们都谨记自己的身份 - 我们是拥有300多年经验的葡萄种植、葡萄酒酿造和葡萄酒销售世家。我们了解葡萄酒的原创性,并能确保酒的纯正和品质,世世代代不松懈。在知道了这一点后,您可放心品尝我们的美酒。

创始人

据记载,雅各布•卡斯特尔 (Jakob Castell) 于1686年首次从意大利的瓦莱达奥斯塔政区 (Val d'Aosta) 来到瑞士的施维茨市 (Schwyz)。在这里,他缴纳“Tolerierter”(季节工) 税,这是当时的惯例。1694年,税金翻了倍,卡斯特尔转而成为“Jahrgelter”,即常驻居民。卡斯特尔与轩乐 (Schuler) 二人的贸易公司由此开启征程,后发展成为今日的Schuler葡萄酒店。

卡斯特尔 (卒于1728年) 的老家是位于利斯山谷 (Lys Valley) 的格雷索内 (Gressoney),早在500年前就有一支讲德语方言 — 阿勒曼尼语 (Alemannic) 的民族 — 瓦萨人 (Walser,亦称Krämertal) 在这里定居。利斯山谷与瓦莱达奥斯塔政区毗邻,“利斯”这个名称源于罗莎群山 (Monte Rosa) 之一的利斯卡姆峰 (Lyskamm)。像从利斯山谷走出来的很多人一样,卡斯特尔是位游商,他卖的是织物。一到冬天,他就会离开世代居住的家园,远走他乡,来到像施维茨这样的地方卖他的货物。

当时,那些拥有完全民事权利的施维茨市新居民被分配在该市的穆奥塔塔尔区 (Muotathal) 居住。他们必须支付1400盾 (gulden,旧时欧洲等地使用的金币或银币) 的买方费,并且向施维茨Old Land (古陆) 地区的每一个教区捐赠一件主教所穿的法衣,外加向“女教区”(Mother Parish) 捐赠两件教士服。后来,卡斯特尔的儿子和孙子将他的生意做大了。其儿子是当地长官,名为约翰•雅各布•卡斯特尔一世 (Johann Jakob Castell I),卒于1776年;他的孙子是一名法官,名为约翰•雅各布•卡斯特尔二世 (Johann Jakob Castell II,1738-1811年)。

两位主要推动者

现有公司在当年的两位主要推动者分别为:法官约翰•雅各布•卡斯特尔二世的儿子 — 盐官约翰•雅各布•卡斯特尔三世 (1760-1822年),以及这位法官的女婿 — 约瑟夫•安东•轩乐-卡斯特尔 (Josef Anton Schuler-Castell,1775-1850年)。这二人成立了公司,除了经营织物生意,还涉足酒类、奶酪和银行业务。

约瑟夫•安东•轩乐是汉斯•轩乐 (Hans Schuler) 家族的后代,这个家族来自瑞士瓦莱 (Valais) 的Ernen,于1500年前后定居瑞士卢塞恩 (Rothenthurm)。约瑟夫•安东•轩乐是市议会成员,任职使者和盐官。公司向政府供应制服和警服,还向女修道会供应服装,并将从瑞士、法国、英格兰、德国和东欧购来的高级时尚织物卖给富人。卡斯特尔和轩乐的贸易公司还卖奶酪、葡萄酒、香料,甚至还卖巧克力;当时最好的货物来自西班牙。他们还构建起一个跨越贝林佐纳 (Bellinzona)、马加迪诺 (Magadino)、马焦雷湖 (Maggiore) 畔的Intra以及米兰多地的销售网络。

葡萄酒与奶酪

1816至1820年间,公司停止了织物生意。当时的纺织业已陷入危机,所以家族中没有人愿意继续从事这类生意。但是,推动这个决策产生的背后主因却很可能是:约翰•雅各布•卡斯特尔和他的女婿约瑟夫•安东•轩乐在1800年开始投入力量开办新业务并取得迅猛增长。这些新业务即奶酪业、葡萄酒业和银行业。卡斯特尔和轩乐的贸易公司从施维茨、上瓦尔登州 (Obwalden) 和下瓦尔登州 (Nidwalden) 买入“高山牧场”(alp) 奶酪,有时也从“上瓦莱”(Upper Valais) 和恩特勒布赫市 (Entlebuch) 购买,然后经由圣哥达山口将奶酪卖到意大利北部的一些市场。

有一段时间,产自穆奥塔塔尔区的“高山牧场”奶酪销路最好。英格堡修道院 (Engelberg Abbey) 成为卡斯特尔和轩乐的贸易公司在奶酪行业的重要合作伙伴。该修道院院长不仅供应“修道院奶酪”,还从那些在早年法国入侵期间被释放的俗人修士那里购买奶酪,然后卖给卡斯特尔和轩乐的出口公司。法国的入侵令瑞士一贫如洗,而奶酪出口生意成为人们雪中送炭般的收入来源。

政局不稳、赫尔维蒂共和国建立、调停、拿破仑战争、拿破仑试图对英国实行大陆经济封锁政策 — 所有这一切都没有影响奶酪贸易的继续发展。每年都有17,000块奶酪出口,其中6,000块出自英格堡。尽管这些奶酪原本属于苏布林芝奶酪 (sbrinz) 这一类别,但是一经包装交付运输,它们就变成了所谓的“Spalenkäse”或“Spalen”奶酪。每个“Spalen”(也叫做“木鼓”) 中装入六块奶酪,每一口运货的牲口在身体两侧各驼上一个木鼓就可以上路了。回来的时候,牲口背上驼的以及货车装载的是葡萄酒、大米、栗子、烈酒、蜂蜜、意大利香肠和家禽等货物,这些被运回瑞士北方。

运输路线

在同意大利之间所进行的来往贸易中,货物是通过船只在马焦雷湖上运送 (Intra和马加迪诺这两地是重要的中转站),然后用马车运到法伊多 (Faido),在这里再改由牲口驼运。到了瑞士的乌里州 (Amsteg),货物再次被装入马拉的货车,然后到了弗吕伦 (Flüelen) 再次改船运。整个运程不超过五天。其实邮递服务也很快捷,通常从意大利寄往瑞士的信件只比这样的运输过程晚一天到而已。后来,随着1830年圣哥达山口第一条机动车道的修建以及1865年Axenstrasse大街的开通,运输就更为便捷了。全年都可运输货物,除了冬天里会歇那么几天。

19世纪动乱

后来,公司带头人换成了议员西奥多•卡斯特尔 (Theodor Castell,1799-1870年,多数时候住在Intra)、他的连襟安东•轩乐-卡斯特尔 (Anton Schuler-Castell,1775-1850年) 以及轩乐-卡斯特尔的两个儿子,即盐官安东•轩乐-本兹格 (Anton Schuler-Benziger,1814-1875年)和州议员兼教育议员迈因拉德•轩乐 (Meinrad Schuler,1828-1884年)。

1817年闹饥荒,公司按照政府紧急命令,为施维茨地区供应来自意大利的“大米和水果”(即粮食)。必要的资金需预付,这由位于苏黎世的一家银行提供。

这些蓬勃发展的业务因1872-1884年圣哥达山口铁路的修建和1875年安东•轩乐-本兹格的去世而走向下滑。公司在贝林佐纳、马加迪诺和Intra多地的仓库和办公室已变得不那么重要,因而被关闭,整个奶酪业务也在连续几年亏损之后停止运营。

银行业务

公司凭借支票账户业务进入银行业。与当年长期形成的惯例不同,卡斯特尔与轩乐并不拥有那种从山区弄来的金币。相反,他们用现金进行周转 — 用奶酪销售收入购买意大利产品,用在施维茨售卖葡萄酒、大米之类的所得购买奶酪。无论是在瑞士的施维茨,还是子公司Castelli-Borgo Caratti & Co.的所在地 — 意大利伦巴第大区首府米兰,公司均于日后开始涉足黄金和外汇交易、国内军人和普通家庭的资金转账以及信用卡交易业务。

1802或1803年时,公司出资特派卡尔•扎伊 (Karl Zay) 博士代表所在州前往巴黎参加Consulta洽谈,且后于1847年为瑞士内战“桑德邦德战争”(Sonderbund War) 管理资金。安东•轩乐-本兹格 (Anton Schuler-Benziger) 将货币业务打理得风生水起,并最终带动他的两个儿子,即安东•轩乐和西奥多•轩乐兄弟俩在施维茨建立起一家银行。安东•轩乐-塔拉奇 (Anton Schuler-Trucchi,1853-1910年) 去世后,银行由他的弟弟西奥多•轩乐-亨格勒 (Theodor Schuler-Henggeler,1855-1936年) 接管,并于日后卖给了瑞士圣加仑州 (St. Gallen) 的一家合作银行 — Schweizerische Genossenschaftsbank St. Gallen。第二次世界大战结束后,Genossenschaftsbank St. Gallen由瑞士银行协会 (Swiss Bank Association) 接手。

葡萄酒业务壮大

进入本世纪的头几年,葡萄酒业务开始日益突显重要性,大概就是在约瑟夫•安东•轩乐-卡斯特尔 (Josef Anton Schuler-Castell,1775-1850年) 决定全面彻底且持久地进入葡萄酒行业之后。主要货源地仍然是意大利北部,包括皮德蒙特 (Piedmont)、伦巴第、格天那 (Gattinara) 等地;公司曾经在马焦雷湖的南岸拥有自己的葡萄园,后来因地产分割被出售;不过,公司很快开始销售来自法国波尔多、纳博讷 (Narbonne)、Tain、马贡 (Mâcon) 等地以及德国莱茵兰 (Rhineland) 和弗莱堡 (Breisgau,即Markgräfler),还有匈牙利托考伊 (Tokayer) 等地的葡萄酒。

瑞士东部、西部以及南部提契诺州 (Ticino) 的供应商数量尤其庞大。经圣哥达山口进口的葡萄酒量大幅飙升,从1807年的20,000升增至1820或1821年的82,000升。葡萄酒从瑞士腹心地区售往各地经销商、旅店老板,甚至还卖给修道院和个人。

就像银行业务一样,葡萄酒业务在安东•轩乐和西奥多•轩乐兄弟二人的手中获得不断发展。1893年,他们在靠近新圣哥达火车站的Seewen建起了一座大型酒厂。1891年在卢塞恩开了分厂,此后又于1895年收购了位于卢塞恩Kesselgasse街上的一个藏酒厂。1919年安东•轩乐去世,西奥多•轩乐接管了银行业务。葡萄酒业务则交给了安东•轩乐的儿子西奥多•轩乐-雷亚尔 (Theodor Schuler-Real,1881-1954年)。

订阅轩乐月度邮件注册 400 021 6760 周一-周六:12:00-19:00
一般条款和条件

仅限18周岁以上人士购买。